Posted in Writing challenges

Don’t go there

I’m kicking off this blog with a WordPress Daily Prompt: Childhood Revisited.
child chasing bubblesThis is one of those journeys that perhaps is better not made. ‘ Never look back’ my Grandmother used to say and Lot’s wife was a salutary, if not salty, lesson. If we turn retrospective, we’d really best do it in the company of an adult, or therapist, unless we had one of those hunky-dory or ‘nothing very much happened’ childhoods.

Sure, you turned out pretty good, but is there anything you wish had been different about your childhood?

Where do I begin to tell the story of  how it started as a bad dream but I woke to find myself in worse shape when I left it all behind. A home would have been nice but in between there were holidays of endless summers and winter woolies,  nourishing food and some no-nonsense love. It stood me in good stead ultimately.

If you have kids, is there anything you wish were different for them?

Remember that old biblical saying about iniquity being visited unto the 3rd and 4th generations. I would do it all a hundred times better but would not wish my children to be any different.

Author:

playing with photography @ eljaygee whilst Tell Tale Therapy has a weakness for words

2 thoughts on “Don’t go there

Comments are closed.