Posted in Writing challenges

Like seeing red

seeing red
seeing red

Bumbastories announces a world-wide competition: to name and shame those words that have slipped into everyday narratives and which make linguapurists grind their teeth, see red and generally go up in flames.

LIKE. For me it’s like. I really do not like  the every-other-word interspersal of like as a filler in a discourse.

“Like I said earlier [no actually, it’s the first time you mentioned this], it’s like a cheeseburger, with like onions and like melted cheese, that you have to like, pull like string [appropriate use of like as metaphor]. Then I like [that’s a preference] to add like, mustard and bacon”

“So, it actually is a cheeseburger”?

“Yes, like I said…”

In conversation, a filler lets the hearer know that the speaker wishes to continue holding the floor and that the time is not yet ripe for the return call. But given the rolling narrative of interspersed likes, as opposed to previous hesitants of um..er..ah, I conclude that the reason for this most unlikable use of like, lies with the apparent abhorence of silence, no matter how miniscule, in the modern milieu.

I will fess up 😦  to using hesitant fillers more and more, when I um…cannot immediately recall the er…word I’m thinking of. You know… like thingummybob and whatsit.

Winning teeth-on-edge word contributions will receive…a free copy of Stephen Baum’s Up in the Bronx novel. Just like that!

Author:

playing with photography @ eljaygee whilst Tell Tale Therapy has a weakness for words

2 thoughts on “Like seeing red

  1. Like… I never really liked like all that mustard on my hamburger either.
    What i REALLY don’t like is when people are like (sorry) talking, and they say something like (sorry again): “He said such and such to me and then I said like…” And then they roll their eyes or shrug their shoulders.
    Like I don’t like that.
    Thanks for quoting Bumbastories and thanks for joining the Worldwide International Competition.

    Like

Comments are closed.