Posted in Make my Day

making sense of inkblots

inkblots mirror image The Rorschach inkblot tests, developed in the 30s to help diagnose schizophrenia became a popular, almost cultic personality test of the 60s. Even today they are a useful tool for assisting us into the inner world of our psyche. Not everyone is introspective and some people find it difficult to begin talking about themselves or their problems.

when a person is shown an ambiguous, meaningless image (ie an inkblot) the mind will work hard at imposing meaning on the image. That meaning is generated by the mind. By asking the person to tell you what they see in the inkblot, they are actually telling you about themselves, and how they project meaning on to the real world.

Just for the fun of it, I’ve created this inkblot in Smart Photo editor, using one of my photos, transposed with a mirrored half and overlaid with  a watercolor effect. I then monochromed it because colours are too emotive and the idea is to look into the image and say what you see…

First up I can see a torso or it might be an escutcheon with a cross imprinted on it. Possibly a caped crusader – am I waiting for rescue, I wonder. Above it are a whole set of, somewhat eery, faces, at least four of them, ranging from a grasshopper to owl and bat. I suppose this is my nocturnal tendencies coupled with fear of the dark.

Then there is a heart,adjacent to a small dragon like figure, leg raised in a kick. Reminiscent of my love of Tai Chi. It points towards a child’s face, lying horizontal, with large white tusks drooping down like a walrus. Now that’s an enigma I’ll have to ponder.

Meanwhile see what you can see and click here for larger image

[Written for NaBloPoMO Day4]

Ref:
What’s behind the Rorschach inkblot test

Author:

playing with photography @ eljaygee whilst Tell Tale Therapy has a weakness for words

2 thoughts on “making sense of inkblots

  1. I saw the image of a person immediately. Specifically, a Chinese warrior, sitting cross-legged, even meditating. Above what I thought was the head looks to me an upside-down skull and crossbones. I also see the open fanged jaws of what I thought is a wolf on either side of the image. Dunno what that all says about me, except maybe I’m in an aggressive mood! 🙂

    Like

Do drop me a line!

