Posted in Now and then

Good Intentions

angel_candle

When I lit the angel candle to see in the New Year, I did so with a silent prayer for good health and fortune. Almost immediately the aphorism: ‘the road to hell is paved with good intentions’ came to mind. Since I’ve always used this phrase as a derisory dig at superficial sentimentality it seemed a puzzling prompt.

I’d almost forgotten its other, and much more appropriate, meaning –  an admonishment regarding the all too common failure to act out or adhere to an intention, due to procrastination, laziness or lack of will. Thus it is particularly apt when the New Year begins and plans are made to change or improve life styles. Hence we talk about Resolutions – a much stronger and more determined commitment than intention

Having stopped smoking a couple of years ago, I’ve inevitably gained weight, pound by pound and now it is time to strengthen my resolve to shed the excess. I’ll need to achieve it on more than a wing and prayer though.

May the force be with you in 2014!

Author:

playing with photography @ eljaygee whilst Tell Tale Therapy has a weakness for words

16 thoughts on “Good Intentions

  1. I’m so glad you quit smoking, Laura. I know that gaining weight is a terrible consequence, but I’m sure you’ll find a way through it. Have a prosperous and bountiful 2014!

    Like

Do drop me a line!

