Posted in Writing challenges

P for Peabody

Peabody the philanthropistFrom somewhat impoverished and puritanical roots Mr George Peabody, rose from provender of dry goods to merchant banker. Renowned in the States as a patron of educational establishments, in London, it was poverty that pricked the consciences of the well-heeled and principled Victorians. Here in 1862 he established the Peabody Donation Fund, pioneering social housing for the paupered artisans of the city.

As the father of philanthropy, Peabody is immortalised in bronze, placed on a pedestal in the heart of London’s financial district,

“I have prayed my heavenly Father day by day that I might be enabled before I die to shew [show] my gratitude for the blessings which He had bestowed upon me by doing some great good to my fellow-men”.

Post written for Frizztext’s P Challenge

Author:

playing with photography @ eljaygee whilst Tell Tale Therapy has a weakness for words

2 thoughts on “P for Peabody

  1. thank you, Laura, for introducing him, “…he established the Peabody Donation Fund, pioneering social housing for the pauperized artisans of the city…” – actually we could need humans like him in many countries!

    Like

Comments are closed.