Posted in Tree following

Tree Following: Not with a bang

It’s November and our belated Autumn has climaxed somewhere just beyond the green. Many of the London plane trees are well leafed, sycamores are yellowing and their oriental cousins are finaly aflame.

The hornbeam hedgerows are hanging on to their golden and crispy brown curls whilst the Hornbeam tree of Gordon Square that I’ve been following, is stark naked!

It’s the barest tree around, with just a smattering of the yellow leaf to identify it although the dark fluted trunk is a giveaway.

Since Carpinus betulus trees are renowned for retaining their foliage throughout much of the winter, this one is disappointingly barren. I wonder what effect, if any the adjacent construction work has had – the fencing certainly detracts from the scene.

In the folded footings a snail shelters. Straggly epimediums provide evergreen ground cover and already Corsican hellebores are preparing to bloom. So ends the November chapter of this hornbeam; no fireworks, just a fizzle out – “not with a bang but a whimper”.

Exif_JPEG_PICTUREMeanwhile the branches keep next years leaf buds close to and a sleeping woodpigeon finds the tracery a perfect roost. It reminds me of the partridge in a pear tree and Christmas but that is for next month.

Tree Following with Lucy: There’s a link box on Loose and Leafy on 7th of the month for 7 days. Every month!
And am also following Pat@The Squirrel Basket who also is shadowing a Hornbeam

Author:

playing with photography @ eljaygee whilst Tell Tale Therapy has a weakness for words

18 thoughts on “Tree Following: Not with a bang

  1. My tree is naked this month too – it’s a Paulownia Tomentosa- and somehow without leaves it looks a little sorry for itself. We’ve had to have our own sycamores pollarded as the squirrels have been chewing them all summer (rolls eyes) so the majority of our leaves are already down this year

    Like

  2. All hardwoods bare here now, the only colorful saving grace being the golden Tamarac which, like other conifers, retains its needles, but turns a lovely bronze/gold. The hills are grey and green, highlighted in tamarac gold.

    Like

  3. oh Laura, when I came down the second time I was soo close, I was in Tavistock square and trying to remember which square your tree was in, so close but a miss is a miss …..
    I am sure I read some where or heard that full gown trees do not keep their leaves as well as cut shrubby trees for hedging, the silhouette is nice, all those embracing arms and the pigeon likes it, it is a bit like the carole, with the canopy gone there is more light for the plants underneath, Frances

    Like

      1. thanks Laura, I just had a peep and it is so green, did you notice that the hornbeam on the left of my grey alder still had it’s leaves, yellowing, yet the one on the right is brown and nearly stripped of leaves, Frances

        Like

  4. How different it is here in wet Wales! Thanks for the link to my hornbeam, which I think will be one of the last trees to lose its leaves here in Cardiff. I feel sorry for yours, so close to that ugly fence.
    Your Acers and “London” planes are looking colourful. Funnily enough my next post is also about maples and planes spotted in parks recently.
    Love your hellebore – they are always so robust looking.
    All the best till next time 🙂

    Like

  5. Beautiful! That Hornbeam is neat looking. I am surrounded by pines and maples. Although, I do have an apple tree in my backyard. It’s given me enough apples to make 6 apple cakes and 2 apple crisps this season alone!

    Like

Comments are closed.