Posted in Now and then

Freedom pass

wesminsterart
artwork in an Islington gallery window

Anyone who has phobias or fears will know the constructs of avoidance and the paradoxical confinements of one’s life that ensues. Mine has been the claustro kind, mixed, as is often the case, with fear of being trapped (cleithrophobia). Hence I’ve avoided the Tube/Metro for much of late adulthood. Recent MRIs nearly proved a challenge too far and I’ll opt for stairs rather than lifts whenever possible.

But suddenly a week or so ago I decided to face some of the demons, and with right-hand man as support, went down into the depths of London’s underground network.  Surprisingly there were no moments of anxiety throughout the journeys (though none came to that deadly silent, stop in the tunnels).

I’m feeling thoroughly liberated and it’s just as well since I’m about to take charge of my Older Persons Freedom pass whereby the underworld of train travel will become my oyster…There only remains the up and down voyaging of lifts to conquer.

Postscript: Recommend Peter Ackroyd’s “London Under” (2011) for a fear-titillating gothic history on how London secretly grew below ground.

Author:

playing with photography @ eljaygee whilst Tell Tale Therapy has a weakness for words

8 thoughts on “Freedom pass

  1. I’m so pleased you have come to grips with this fear in time to take advantage of being able to travel around London in such a straightforward way. Congratulations! I don’t like The Tube but can manage. But I doubt I will ever be able to go through the Channel Tunnel. (First time I’ve ever realised why they are called ‘Oyster Cards’!)

    Like

  2. I’m glad you conquered your phobia! Mine is fear of heights–especially when I can see the ground below my feet. Like wooden, open stairs in a tall tower, or a cliff with no railing. I remember how convenient the tube was in London–we were able to sightsee all around the city so easily. So, it’s great that you’re free to transport all around now.

    Like

Do drop me a line!

