Posted in Short thoughts

Train lines

train lines poem -

The earth of the Fens
more purple than brown
raped yellow in April
with blizzards of blackthorn
and silver birch woods
scarred to the bone

Across flat lands
the gaze is free to wander
topped by skies
reaching in for a closer look

ii

stirring the once dormant landscape
like colour mixing paint, fleet visions
of Spring and monochrome the lexicon
that nets elusive first impressions

lines seen from a train window
rattled to a plain and honest rhythm
jottings in a purple book of prose
dormant; revisited now without revision

only the poet knows to shoot in colour
without surfeit of sincerity
© Laura Granby 2015

Jottings from an April train journey, re-discovered in time for Poetry Pantry  .

Author:

one blog for playing with photography @ eljaygee and the other with a weakness for words @ Tell Tale Therapy

40 thoughts on “Train lines

  1. Ha. the last lines are pretty cool, and made me smile as I feel a bit of snark when I read them. Lol. I love to ride the train. They go so fast these days the world kinda blurs around you up close but when you look far you can take it in. I will be the one looking out the window – or finding all the interesting characters to talk with. Lol.

  2. Train journeys give you taste for places that you can see fleetingly that so attractive yet you probably never visit. When you reach your destination you think why didn’t I stop back there?

  3. Amen to that. I’ve been train-riding along the mighty Hudson River which adds another line and lots of seasonal variation.

  4. is fens Norfolk?
    One day …

    raped yellow in April
    – I loathe both the mustardy colour, and eating ‘oil of rape’
    but it is a vividly apt turn of phrase!

    1. fens includes Lincolnshire and Cambridgeshire where my train wended its way.
      Yes I agree about Brassica napus hence the double entendre which I feel the jaundiced acres do to our Spring landscape

    1. thank you Donna -rail is often quicker than roads for us in lil ole England – emphasis on the little! p.s. I’m off soon to Derbyshire by train so will be looking for more inspiration

Comments are closed.