Posted in Writing challenges

Walking the waters

boats_newriverIf I were Jesus
I would walk on water too
not for sensational splash headlines
just the feel of droplets unpeeling underfoot
lightness of being on surface tension
the way a breeze tests tensile struts of spider webs

waterstriders do the walk on buoyant feet
all two hundred and forty two insectas skate
to nowhere in particular it seems
aquatic birds paddle-slap short lengths til wing borne
or slide the level plane in wave-buckling returns
and in spheres of suffocation, we too can tread water
like desperate hamsters in a wheel, lest we drown

but I make do with walking the waters
perambulating pools, skirting seashores
or as the parallel pedestrian in riparian zones
past moorings and the limitations of boats beyond the navigable
befriended by the constant camaraderie of  river

I’ve gone where the bournes are born
followed downstream the widening gathering pace
to see them vanish in an evangelic dash to baptism

© Laura Granby 2015

Uniting with poets on the theme of Rivers for the Midweek Motif

Author:

playing with photography @ eljaygee whilst Tell Tale Therapy has a weakness for words

37 thoughts on “Walking the waters

  1. the way a breeze tests tensile struts of spider webs
    whew! What images!
    And yet making do with the nearby friendship of the river also has its beauty.
    Thank you for this poem.

    Like

  2. There is beauty in either walking on or walking in or walking near the river. I most liked your first stanza, I must admit — thinking about what it might be like walking ON water like Jesus. And then the comparison to the water strider — inspired!

    Like

  3. Oh! How it must be to be a water strider! The first stanza blew me away, totally. The thought of feeling the water under our feet instead of around or on top. Being near or in water just makes me feel special. This is a special poem indeed.

    Like

  4. I especially love the opening lines
    “…just the feel of droplets unpeeling underfoot
    lightness of being on surface tension…”
    – I could most definitely envision myself walking on water and almost felt the droplets and the surface tension!

    Like

  5. Such a profound poem – yes..put like that walking on water would be a wonderful thing…paddle-slap is also a new and wonderful expression for me – thank you!

    Like

  6. What a wonderful poem and original viewpoint! ‘just the feel of droplets unpeeling underfoot’ makes me go all gooey at the imagined sensation.

    Like

Comments are closed.