Posted in Short thoughts

Sea salt

sea salt poem - sunset tree photoart
source -@hanginguptodry – the mainstay

Land lubber
ashore with the trees
rope-soled soul
sees boats haul
sailcloth crack and voyagers
buffeted windward

Temptation
a gold horizon
sea fever*
jack tar tales
spillage on troubled waters
deep oblivion

Hunker down
lest I dive headlong
tide driven
wave ridden
trade wind borne from troposphere
afore wake of fear

© Laura Granby 2016

*I learnt to recite as a very young child – John Masefield’s ‘Sea Fever

 

Inspired by today’s photoart and trying for the first time, the syllable stricture of a shadorma (3/5/3/3/7/5) with a sea salt tale for ‘Poetry Pantry
[and I hope to try out Wednesday’s prompt: “A flower was offered to me….”]

Author:

one blog for playing with photography @ eljaygee and the other with a weakness for words @ Tell Tale Therapy

32 thoughts on “Sea salt

  1. Love how well this speaker knows herself… Even while sailing uncertain waters, she remembers to focus on her motivation, doesn’t forget what might make push her away from her path… The tone is also brilliant. I can almost hear the speaking taking one measure breath at a time, hands tight around her lifeline, eyes and heart on her objective.

  2. Bound by rope, bound by the words in this – Sea Fever is a wonderful poem and this poem of yours is an excellent tribute. The rhythm of this is like the sea, like the hand-over-hand of pulling rope. I truly enjoyed.

    1. could not resist that alliteration but it does also describe the land/sea tussle of the poet – and the artistic prompt was my own so I easily knew what that image meant for me!

  3. I too would have to follow story and waves into the water before fear stops me–fear being a rope stronger than what it takes to tie a boat.

  4. I always have an urge to be aboard a boat and sail away. I think it is inbred from having sailors in the family’s past. You have written such a great poem.

  5. ‘…. and all I ask is a tall ship / and a star to steer her by’. I was brought up on it too. 🙂

Comments are closed.