Posted in Short thoughts, Writing challenges

Too much, too soon

I think you mistook me for a goddess
the minotaur hunt had begun at midnight
downwind I caught a snatch of whiskey
in the husky whisperings of horn and hoof

Meek as live bait in the illicit snare
though you could not decide if goatskin
was just a smoke screen of my creation
to parry a not so insatiable prayer

In the morning one of us was found
but misery was written in the centre
of the maze – reached too soon
and close to the entrance I lost your name

Written for Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie Wordle #106 – words emboldened and the poem is an inverse of the 9th word Adronitis

Author:

one blog for playing with photography @ eljaygee and the other with a weakness for words @ Tell Tale Therapy

10 thoughts on “Too much, too soon

      1. I did sense a little bit of an inkling when I read your tantalizing piece. I remember once doing a writing exercise (for inspiration purposes) picking words at random from an Edgar Alan Poe collection. It produced such odd ones when gathered together, I didn’t dare use them. Still think of them though. Yikes! 🙂

Comments are closed.