Posted in Short thoughts, Writing challenges

The Rubaiyat of Rubatosis

rubatosis - wordle poem

“Just for the duration” you said “wear it the way you wear your heart”
though an amethyst is talisman against drunkenness
and the drawback of your having supped the marriage cup
made love all the more sobering

“why would I wish for the moon when I have the stars?”
your smile creased teasingly with wicked wordplay
stopping short of the distance in those blue-glazed eyes
the sidereal blow landed with meteoric impact

by my own hand stigmata bleed into the flask
after the gin genie inexplicably vanished
with the furious flourish of a girl giddy with palpitations
and with each beat of the existential mantra: I am here, I am, I

Taking the Wordle #108 challenge with the emboldened words and the 9th as theme – Rubatosis (n. the unsettling awareness of your own heartbeat, whose tenuous muscular throbbing feels less like a metronome… as if to casually remind the outside world, I’m here, I’m here, I’m here.)

Author:

playing with photography @ eljaygee whilst Tell Tale Therapy has a weakness for words

8 thoughts on “The Rubaiyat of Rubatosis

    1. and amazes me Diana how you create your gardens within a garden with references to locale as well as your own family history and the ingenuity of names and colour palettes for the various garden plantings

      Like

Comments are closed.