Posted in Writing challenges

An atramentous syrup

Who wouldn’t be gloomy and morose
bile black as nimbus clouds
a fugitive from relentless rain
and whether we argue for proof of climate change
or random servings over an intemperate isle
here on the threshold I’m sick with hesitation

yet weather cannot be permitted to obstruct
or grant me a picker’s licence
it’s cordial not atrabilious concentrate I’m after
slipping through mud puddles like a cerise gastropod
gaily waterproofed from head to wellington boot
I harvest blue-black globules of elderberry
– what lengths we urban folk contrive
bottling the dream of a wayfaring forager

Using 11 words and adding ‘atrabilous’ to my  lexicon with thanks to Wordle #114 

 

Author:

one blog for playing with photography @ eljaygee and the other with a weakness for words @ Tell Tale Therapy

11 thoughts on “An atramentous syrup

  1. Atrabilious – not a word I’m drawn to – the less so after looking it up. But love your multi-imaged wayside harvest in the rain. Chimes with 3 days of much-rain in Wales. We just had to go out in it and hope for the best, and here and there the best happened 🙂

Comments are closed.