Posted in Short thoughts, Writing challenges

Honey for your thoughts

Signposts point everywhere
but that’s the problem – which way was my way
without a map of destiny
no carrot, no firework behind
still in dreams I race to the crossroads
before three vampires can consume me

Mr Right Way would put me on the right road
there he was in my mind’s eye,
in the penny dreadful romance, from film noirs
caught in the arc light of my father’s dark eyes
with halloween candle and mirror at midnight I’d foreseen
only a rather tired and terrified version of myself
but he was there all right – Mr Right On
although having morphed from Mr 9-5 into a Hey Man
what was a girl to think ?

I thought I just had to be a believer
no faith in stuff and nonsense
accumulating widsom like my grandmother
read Schopenhauer, Marx  and existential poets
live in a houseboat, smoke pot and raise children
the kind who would not devour the world in wants

Death still has the sting
but I’m wised up to life as a much sweeter place
I should have gathered honey instead

© Laura Granby

 

I felt it necessary to see what this collage could inspire since I composed it for MLMM  Writing Prompt #167
and to enjoy more Sunday versifying am joining up with  Poetry Pantry

Author:

playing with photography @ eljaygee whilst Tell Tale Therapy has a weakness for words

40 thoughts on “Honey for your thoughts

  1. I loved reading about this journey, and the hint of world weariness with which I completely resonate. I most love the quote at the top of your collage. Smiles.

    Like

  2. But if you had gathered honey would you be who you are? Signposts and signals abound and yet somehow the right direction seems elusive perhaps a sign with ‘you will get there eventually and in your own way’ is the most accurate.

    Like

  3. Interesting progression in this poem. I think we all search for that “Mr. Right Way,” and hopefully each of us finds our own Right way as we travel through life. Hard nowadays to raise children who do not devour the world in wants, it seems. And indeed gathering honey as one lives seems like the best way!

    Like

  4. Though I am behind, i will catch up as I hate to miss any of your poems Laura….such magic in every line…and I had to chuckle as I shook my head, yes, yes in so many places. Of course when i read the ending lines, I just thought, ‘brilliant’…yes I too am thinking life is so much sweeter especially if we gather honey.

    You did a fabulous job creating a poem for this collage….

    Like

  5. Enjoyed this poem. You write very well. Schopenhauer, Marx and dope (dont know about house boats) were all de rigueur at that time. I think the only solution is to collage one’s own world ( I like hues of pink) and leave the real one to those who can handle it:)

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Glad you wised up an found life a sweeter place after all. (The hippy dream sounds a bit boring the way you describe it!)

    Like

  7. “My husband’s friend raised bees and made honey. Apparently, he was always at peace with himself. Perhaps there is still time to join an apiary,” she commented. “Poem is excellent sour to sweet,” she added.

    Like

Comments are closed.