Posted in Short thoughts

Note to self

birthday shadorma
To find perfect ripeness, catch it (Nguyen)

Midsummer –
seems the sad-eyed Fall
has inched in
year on year
how long ’til we see April
weep buckets of bloom

Fly by night
the waking hours
I recall
still quite young
something like a wilful end
in February

Balderdash!
you’ve ages to rock
up from birth
this July
blow the count of candle light
drink in each moment

© Laura Granby 2016

back with a brief birthday shadorma to link up with Poetry Pantry…and up next is my guest collage poetry prompt @ Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie  – give it a go!

Author:

one blog for playing with photography @ eljaygee and the other with a weakness for words @ Tell Tale Therapy

24 thoughts on “Note to self

  1. I am detecting a birthday too…and so I will Happy Birthday if it is you Laura!

    Sometimes I feel ‘sad-eyed Fall’ catching up with me, but I am with the poet….I’ll take April weeping its buckets of blooms! Enjoy your day….

  2. Love the imagery throughout, but those last three lines are my absolute favorite….so wise and poignantly worded 🙂

Comments are closed.