Posted in Short thoughts, Writing challenges

The enchanted pool

photoart enchanted pool @hanginguptodry
my photoart @hanginguptodry

Heyday holidays
summertime longer than finger counting hours
shrimp of a boy with his net

prisoner of pirates
walking the fallen tree trunk blind
lagoon lapped toes

space-time sorcery
no newts or sticklebacks to lure
only mermaids and sprites

hypnotic sway of weeds
below a drowned witch waves at him
spellbound ’til the homeward call

With Toads Flash 55 word prompt plus lacuna  and joining other versifers at Poetry Pantry 

Author:

one blog for playing with photography @ eljaygee and the other with a weakness for words @ Tell Tale Therapy

38 thoughts on “The enchanted pool

  1. I remember being so spellbound! Love the imagination twining through the natural surroundings. My favorite phrase: “space-time sorcery.” Bravo!

  2. “space-time sorcery” Brilliant!

    This is a wonderful narrative, Laura. I had no idea you were so talented in the visual arts too. I love your picture.

  3. I love those finger counting hours – perhaps the essence of childhood (and wonder) is hoping for more time..not less.. I love how you convey that rich as summer haze..and the photo is magical too

Comments are closed.