Posted in Short thoughts, Writing challenges

the hanged man

crossroads_micro_poem
Blow me a kiss
and demonstrate which of the four
you’ve chosen
I’ll bide until this rope stops turning
faithless lover
but what you stole I minded most
becalmed now
Westward your face hangs agape
watch a traitor
dwindle to the horizon – free from guilt

Note:
Gibbets were often placed at cross roads “pour encourager les autres”

In ten lines or less for the Sunday mini: The Crossroads

Author:

one blog for playing with photography @ eljaygee and the other with a weakness for words @ Tell Tale Therapy

20 thoughts on “the hanged man

  1. The image of the gibbet at the crossroads is especially powerful in this short poem. Your imagery is stark and haunting.

  2. I love the persepctive of this poem – from the eyes of a hanged man – and the way you’ve used the Tarot a way into the prompt. I love the lines:
    ‘I’ll bide until this rope stops turning
    faithless lover’
    so passionate and bitter, coming from the gibbet!

Comments are closed.