Posted in Writing challenges

the bay

thebay_poem
Bournemouth bay ©Laura Granby

where the bay bends westward
a pincered peninsula promenades
its dawn to dusky sea-side shows
shifting sequences of scenery
sculpted by wind and curling cumuli
groynes rupture crook-backed breakers
wrenching precious grains
from children of the sand castle
and lovers still lying in knots

First poem of the year in 44 words for Quadrille #23 with a Curl

Author:

playing with photography @ eljaygee whilst Tell Tale Therapy has a weakness for words

24 thoughts on “the bay

  1. I see you have a sandcastle too!

    I find the alliteration in ‘a pincered peninsula promenades’ so effective, I’m puffing along the promenade with you! I also love the ‘dawn to dusky sea-side shows’ and immediately think of Punch and Judy and bathing beauties – I posted a poem about them a while back. Why are we so immersed in the seaside? I love this, Laura!

    Like

  2. I absolutely adore imagining and reading an image of peninsula promenading. Trying to imagine that is also very inspiring, both humorous and deep. Loved the poem!

    Like

Do drop me a line!

