Posted in Short thoughts, Writing challenges

the chosen one

autumn-wed_prompt
photoart & poem – ©2017 Laura Granby

Bowed as a beachcomber
I scour fresh leaf litter for just one
the one outstanding eye-candy
sweet as a nut sugar reds perhaps
those sickening to saffron with a vanishing viridity
monotints or a veined pride in tri-colour

I’ve no predilections
searching eagle-eyed through Autumn
glued to the fallen underfoot
there’s a light tap on my shoulder
and the driest of whispers
half-turning to see
one earthbound leaf has chosen me

Too many great poets have already written about it but I’m still joining Sumana’s Midweek Motif: Autumn

 

Author:

playing with photography @ eljaygee whilst Tell Tale Therapy has a weakness for words

20 thoughts on “the chosen one

  1. “and the driest of whispers
    half-turning to see
    one earthbound leaf has chosen me” Love love love
    A beautiful poem Enjoyed reading this

    Like

  2. I scour the path for perfect leaves too, Laura. My husband brought me a bouquet of them yesterday morning from his walk. I always try to find the perfect one to bless the day.

    Like

Comments are closed.